top of page
Search

Research and Planning ( First Magazine Task)


Here are my first magazine task with my first Research and Planning, also encountered my first photoshoots planning.


For my preliminary exam magazine task, I decided to chose a student’s lifestyle theme magazine, because I want to change the bad and unhealthy of student’s lifestyle to a more healthier and balance lifestyle and to have a positive mind. This is because students tend to be busy and stress with either school or their personal life that they don’t have the time to take care of themselves.

My target audience is students or teenagers because as most students are struggling on having an healthy and balance lifestyle and for students that don’t know what to do when facing difficult problems that they struggled with. Which is why in this magazine I’ll be sharing on how to manage stress and how to have a healthier both body and mind!

By making and opening up a website which is by blogging, I can advertise my magazine to share to people the process on how to make magazine.

I’ve used both Adobe Photoshop and Adobe InDesign ,so far, I have no issues on using both apps but of course at first it was hard because I’ve never used them but by watching videos that my tutor send and with their help slowly I manage to get the hang of it. After struggling on using both apps, I found it actually helpful on editing my magazine by using so many tools and effects just like a professional!

















Above is a photo of my MS Diary with descriptions and plans for my magazine cover, double spread page and content and includes all the Mise-en-scene such as the setting(which is outside of the house & bedroom),the props I’ll be using,clothing/costumes that the model will be wearing.For my magazine cover I used my own phone camera and for my DSP and content I used my cousin’s (model) camera DSLR.

Magazine Cover



















Before I start editing my magazine cover,I draw or sketch of how I want my magazine cover to look like so that It’ll be easier for me to edit later on.Basically to know where my masthead ,tagline ,cover line ,dateline,sale line and barcodes are going to be (the positions).The size I decided to use or make is an A4 size.



PHOTO 1




















PHOTO 2
























PHOTO 3










(Magazine Cover) This is my finish or final product of my magazine cover, as you can see it already had my masthead ,tagline ,coverlines ,dateline ,saleline and barcodes.These were edited with Adobe Indesign.My masthead is called (goodmind) because people who take a good cre of their have a positive and good mind.The fonts I used is elephant with font size 76 and for the colour I chose green (good) and blue (mind).The reason why I chose those two colors is because Miss Nana told me to be careful not to blend in with the background image.Tagline just below the masthead,I want it to be simple and short but at the same time catchy which is why I chose (healthy mind,healthy life) and had the font color with the masthead, blue(mind) green(life) and white(healthy).For the fonts I used Myriad Pro in bold italic and size is 24.I put 4 cover lines including the one with green circle on the left bottom and the other 3 are : 1. Brain Foods;that will improve your focus & concentration 2. Morning Stretches To Wake Your Body 3. Motivational Thoughts 4. How To Manage Stress Miss Nana told me to focus on my target audience and to make it interesting for them to read and to know what they want from my magazine. The main image for my magazine cover was taken on my phone camera and I’ve took about 42 pictures and I’ve pick photo 1,2 and 3 as my best shoot and the pictures that I think, it would look better on my cover .The three photos on top was actually edited with Adobe Photoshop ,I decided to edited the photos first, to see which one to choose for my cover ,so I adjust the brightness ,saturation ,contrast, shadows and highlights .Photo 1, somehow the salad looks a bit darker and the angle is too far ,I’ve used the same filter for three of the photos (warm amber),for photo 2,the background is a bit too much and its just black and dark .I decided to use photo 3 as my cover because you can see the salad, which is the main part of the image which it doesn’t really look dark and the decorations at the back is not too much and I also like the angle of this photo.






Finish/Final product

(Magazine Cover)














This is my finish or final product of my magazine cover, as you can see it already had my masthead ,tagline ,cover lines ,dateline ,sale line and barcodes .These were edited with Adobe InDesign. My masthead is called (good mind) because people who take a good cre of their have a positive and good mind. The fonts I used is elephant with font size 76 and for the color I chose green (good) and blue (mind).The reason why I chose those two colors is because Miss Nana told me to be careful not to blend in with the background image. Tagline just below the masthead ,I want it to be simple and short but at the same time catchy which is why I chose (healthy mind, healthy life) and had the font color with the masthead, blue(mind) green(life) and white(healthy).For the fonts I used Myriad Pro in bold italic and size is 24.I put 4 cover lines including the one with green circle on the left bottom and the other 3 are :

1. Brain Foods ;that will improve your focus & concentration

2. Morning Stretches To Wake Your Body

3. Motivational Thoughts

4. How To Manage Stress

Miss Nana told me to focus on my target audience and to make it interesting for them to read and to know what they want from my magazine.



All of the fonts ,size and colors, I used are different on each of the cover lines and this is because I want it look colorful and so to attract or grab people’s attention especially my target audience. For cover line 1, (Brain Foods) I used elephant regular with black colored and size 36.For (that will improve your focus & concentration) I used Georgia bold italic with also black colored and size 18.Cover line 3 (Morning ,To Wake Your Body) I used font Brittanic bold in blue color and size 30 and (Stretches) I used font Bernard regular with orange color and size 48.Cover line 3,(Motivational Thoughts) I used Berlin Sons regular with orange color and size 48.For cover line 4 I used a circle shape at the background of the fonts this is because the font I’m using is white so you can’t really see the fonts and the fonts I used is Elephant italic with size 29. For my sale line I put it on the left bottom of my masthead and dateline on the right top side and lastly for my barcodes I put it on the very corner and bottom on the left side part.



Double Spread Page





Sketch/Plan Double Spread Page








Example 1


45 views

Comments


bottom of page